AK-PA held its first hybrid post pandemic event and recognized the winners of its 2022 Awards. The event took place February 23rd at Alaska Pacific University with about 15 people online and 20 attending in person including Dr. Jim Coats the holder of Alaska’s first clinical psychology license — #1.

The following people were recognized for their contributions to AK-PA and the Alaska mental health community.

2022 Diversity Award
Celeste Hodge Growden was recognized for tremendous work advocating for EDI in the community, in your role as President/CEO of Alaska Black Caucus

2022 Distinguished Rural Provider
Delta Bedard, LPC was AK-PA was recognized her extraordinary dedication as a rural behavioral health provider to the Aleut and Unangam people of Unalaska.

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award
Patricia Sandberg, Ph.D. was recognized for her lifelong service to developing and mentoring psychology in Alaska through your past work on AK-PA’s board, your decades of training behavioral health providers, and your contributions to early childhood development services.

2022 Legislative Service Award
Ivy Spohnholz was recognized for the signing her bill HB 265 that increased the availability of high quality effective mental health care for all Alaskans.

Photos of the event and past awards can be found at this link: https://www.ak-pa.org/upcoming-events/board-meetings/annual-meeting/